bookmark this page

ACT Acceptance and Commitment Therapy

 Acceptance and Commitment therapy:

"There are six core processes in ACT:
1. Contact with the Present Moment Conscious awareness of your experience in the present moment enables you to perceive accurately what is happening Gives you important information about whether to change or persist in behaviour Enables you to ‘catch’ cognitive fusion ‘in flight’ Allows you to engage fully in what you are doing
2. Acceptance Actively contacting psychological experiences directly, fully, and without needless defense Definition: defused, open, undefended contact with the present moment, as a fully conscious human being. Colloquial: ‘Opening yourself fully to experience, as it is, not as your mind says it is’
3. Defusion Looking at thoughts, rather than from thoughts Noticing thoughts, rather than being caught up in thoughts Seeing thoughts as what they are, not as what they seem to be Aim of Defusion is NOT to feel better, nor to get rid of unwanted thoughts Aim of Defusion IS to reduce influence of unhelpful cognitive processes upon behaviour; to facilitate being psychologically present & engaged in experience; to facilitate awareness of language processes, in order to enhance psychological flexibility 
4. Self-as-context A transcendent sense of self: a consistent perspective from which to observe and accept all changing experiences. (Often called The Observing Self) It is a process, not a thing: an awareness of awareness itself: ‘pure awareness’
5. Values Chosen life directions ‘Your heart’s deepest desires for the sort of person you want to be and the things you want to do in your time on this planet; in other words, what you want to stand for in life’ Provide motivation & inspiration Provide guidance for your actions Give life meaning Give a sense of abundance Are different to goals
6.Committed Action Overt behavior in the service of values (may require skills training) Committed action is: values-guided, effective & mindful"



Popular Posts